Maurice Paramore Citizenship Award


The Maurice Paramore Citizenship Award is sponsored by The Moseleians Association in memory of Maurice Paramore who, as a former pupil was a great supporter of Moseley School. For many years Maurice was a governor and found ways to encourage pupils to take advantage of the opportunities they were afforded. As a founding member of The Moseleians Association, Maurice took an active role in the association, initially as Treasurer then as Editor of our biannual magazine.

This award is presented annually to school students who have shown particular distinction in community engagement – either in school or the wider community outside. There are eight awards, one per school house, where individuals receive a personal award and gift token from the Moseleians Association. One of those will be selected to be presented the Maurice Paramore Shield with an additional gift token with the overall winners’ name being inscribed on the shield.

2015 Winners

2015 MP Citizenship Award Winner Ameera Abdullahia with Richard Cobb

2015 Maurice Paramore Citizenship Award winner Ameera Abdullahia with Moseleians Association Chairman Richard Cobb.

Ameera Abdullahi (Year 10 Nuffield) won the award for showing compassion for others and her excellent work in mediating relationships between students which has helped develop as strong sense of community amongst her peer group. Others to receive £25 tokens and an Association Citizenship Award certificate were Mazharuf Islam, Katie O’Leary, Samia Islam, Adil Nour, Hammad Zaman, Faiza Zaman and Mandla Nkwane.

2014 Winners

Congratulations to Mohammed Bilal Razwan, winner of the 2014 Maurice Paramore Award For Outstanding Citizenship. Bilal has actively participated in Feast Charity events, confidently challenges students to think about how they act and encourages success. He has been part of student interview panels (interviewing new staff candidates) and has asked very challenging and well thought out questions, responding to answers given and providing a great insight into the life of school through a students’ eyes. He is a member of the cadets and is working towards his D of E through them. Bilal is also actively involved in drama, both in school and through Youth Theatre at The Rep, demonstrates high expectations of himself in his dress, manner, religion, extra-curricular activities, values and role within communities and is always highly reliable and balances the many demands on his time effectively to ensure maximum success.

Beryl Paramore said a few words about Maurice before handed over the engraved silver salver to Bilal. The salver is now on display in the cabinet in main school reception.

Congratulation also go to the seven other nominees: Zubair Sardar Khan (Exeter), Josh Lee (Hertford), Haleema Sadia (Keble), Mohammed Uddin ( Lincoln), Serjuntae Burgess (Mansfield), Safiyya Begum (Pembroke) and Sunna Iftikhar (Worcester) all of whom received a gift token.